Meet… Sean Tickner

Sean Tickner has always been keen on riding bikes, from riding to the beach for a surf and to and from school back in Durban. However, It wasn’t until he moved to Capetown that he discovered some of the best trails in the country lay on his doorstep. This is when his passion really grew.

Sean has competed in a few events since first getting in that seat, but you ask him what his biggest achievement is, he will tell you it is yet to come. Getting entry into the Cape Epic has been a dream come true and has surpassed any prior feats.

Not only is Sean talented on the bike, he also rips in the water on his bodyboard. Wherever Sean may be, you are sure to find him somewhere surrounded by nature, doing what he loves.

Meet Your Epic 4 Cancer rider….Sean Tickner.

Name: Sean Tickner

Age: 31 years old

Where do you call home? Originally Durban. I now reside in Woodstock, Capetown.

When did your start Mountain Biking? Just after moving to Cape Town, almost 4 years ago.

What have been some of your biggest achievements so far? The biggest so far has been finishing the Karoo to Coast race, longest race I have ever done, almost 100km. Since getting an entry into this years Epic definitely has to rank as one of my happiest achievements.

What Does the Cape Epic mean to you? A dream come true, Its going to be one of the toughest things I think I will ever do in my life. Months and months of training coming to fruition.
Why Did you select CANSA to be your charity? Almost everybody I know has in some way been effected by cancer, especially in Deon’s case. We thought our tiny bit of suffering compared to theirs and their families can hopefully make a difference.
Where’s your favourite place to ride? WOW, Capetown and surrounds is amazing. Tokai would have to be my favourite.
When are you happiest? When im surrounded by the beauty of nature, be it in the water or on my bike.
Whats the first thing you do in the morning? Coffee machine on and muesli and yoghurt for breakfast before heading off to the gym or a training ride.
 
Any rituals before a big event?

 I try to get all my gear sorted, make sure I have all my kit ready and make sure everything is there the night before. I still manage to dawdle in the morning before an event!

Who is your favourite rider?

The Late Burry Stander, an amazing athlete and a great loss to the sport. He really showed the World what a South African was capable of.

What’s your favourite bike product of all time?

Tough one, I would have to say my cycling bib, it definitely makes riding much more comfortable.

What bike are you riding at the moment?
Giant Anthem X2 26er
If you could give advice to anyone wanting to get into MTB, what would it be? Don’t hesitate, just do it, save up and get yourself a nice bike and then hit the trails, there’s no feeling like it.
422551_10150650905760941_1292106322_n 198841_6013690940_5815_n227740_551099471568552_274592858_n

Leave a comment