Meet Deon Meyer – Epic 4 Cancer

Deon Meyer has some unfinished business when it comes to the Absa Cape Epic. In 2009, Deon entered the event unfortunately not making it to the finish line. Due to some tragic circumstances, which left Deon severely concussed and in hospital with a compression fracture in his neck (c1-6). He was devastated to say the least.

When Deon received a phone call telling him he would be competing in the 2013 Cape Epic, his heart dropped. Another chance, a dream come true.

The Cape Epic is one of a personal mission for Deon. After Loosing his father to Cancer and his mother a survivor of the disease, entering as a charity team allows him to give back to the CANSA organisation. To be able to help cancer victims and their families makes it all worth while.

Deon is not only talented and huge lover of the bike, he is also very passionate about the ocean. In between grueling training sessions, rides and events you will find him in the waves, on his bodyboard. Feeling content and free from life’s pressures this is where he is happy. Meet Deon Meyer, your Epic 4 Cancer Rider.

Name: Deon Meyer 
Age:
28

Where do you call home? Cape Town.

When did your start Mountain Biking? In 2008. I couldn’t stop staring at the mountains here at home in Capetown. I was thinking there had to be trails out there. So i bought my first bike (an old crappy one) and i got hooked. It kept me out of trouble on the days with no waves. Now 5 years onwards i will be competing in one of the world’s toughest multi-stage Mountain Bike events.

What have been some of your greatest achievements in mountain biking so far? I would say completing the 2012 Wines to Whales and the extreme Attakwas just a few days ago.

What does Cape Epic mean to you? The Epic, just the thought of it drives fear into any dedicated person’s mind. It is going to be tough, physically and mentally. It means for me an opportunity to give something back to people affected by cancer, even if I just make a difference in one persons life, I’d be happy.


Why did you select CANSA to be your charity?
Almost every person you speak to has and eventually will be affected by cancer in one way or another, I had to deal with the disease myself with both my parents being diagnosed with cancer and my father sadly lost the battle. My mother is a breast cancer survivor and it is only fitting to have CANSA as our chosen charity.

Where’s your favourite place to ride?
 Table mountain. Its one of the seven wonders of the world, just amazing and i get to ride my bike there!

When are you happiest? In the ocean. I can escape from the world and forget about its worries and troubles. It’s my comfort zone and where I feel content with life.


What’s the first thing you do in the morning? 
I grab a juice, eat a banana do some stretches and then go for a ride.

Any rituals before a big event?

’ I constantly check my tyre pressure before the start! 

Who is your favourite rider?
 The late Burry Stander.

What’s your favourite bike product of all time?
 29er wheels!

What bike are you riding at the moment? Trek Superfly 100 pro 29er

If you could give advice to anyone wanting to get into MTB, what would it be?
 Just step out get yourself the right bike and work hard at it! It will keep you fit and smiling till the end of your days.

319013_10151128030406641_1117516685_n267553_10150305622557518_5895659_n 304726_10150968068506641_1870411028_n

Leave a comment